confessions from a tagged blogger

Dear blog,

It’s me! Promise! I know you didn’t believe me at first. And who can blame you? I’m even glad you deter the suspicious beings who pretend to know the password. And please, do keep up the good work, my blog bouncer! However, in the end I am relieved to have retrieved the magic word from a dusty corner of my brain.  And I am happy to realize I know how to add a new post and which button lets me upload a photo. I can even recall the excitement feedback brings. The tiny ‘bing’ in my inbox when receiving a new notice. Gosh, I absolutely adore that!

Yet it would be foolish of me to promise to keep writing from now on. I have promised far enough during shorter or longer breaks from work to know my projects always vanish into the murky waters of frantic work life. Be it chickens in the garden, articles for different journals or knitting winter equipment for the entire extended family – once school starts again I can barely keep my head above the water. So let’s just enjoy the moment. Let’s cherish the precious breaks from the usual rushing around and get some blogging done!

I have approximately twenty different post ideas in mind. Out of respect for you, for my family and my own little person, I cut it down to two.  The first will be a fun one for this evening. The second a little bit deeper reflection on reaching my first teacher blog anniversary.

IMG_4604

I was extremely honored, surprised and excited to discover that two amazing educators, two wonderful women I admire and look up to, decided to ask me to join in the fun and tagged me for a fun blogging game. Carol Goodey and Anne Hendler sent me their questions and the rules for the game. The latter go as follows:

1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger

2. Share 11 random facts about yourself

3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you

4. List 11 bloggers

5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. Don’t nominate the blogger who has nominated you.

As the game has been going on for quite a while now and most of the people in my PLN I admire and look up to have already answered loads of questions, I take the liberty of stopping my round after the first 3 tasks.

So, here it comes, confessions from a blogger ….

11 random facts about me

1. I dream of running a marathon (my knee problem won’t let my dream come true)

2. I have lived in Switzerland for thirteen years but miss Estonia almost every day

3. I managed to graduate from a French-speaking teacher training college even though I have never really learned the language. (just picked it up)

4. My written French is poor – poor – poor

5. I have worked as a presenter on Estonian TV (it’s a blur now – I was young and did crazy things)

6. I refuse to eat fois gras

7. I find human beings extremely interesting

8. I dream of being a writer and a little crazy

9. Sometimes I find it hard to fathom that my kids speak French (rather than Estonian)

10. Some TV ads make me cry (especially the ones with people hugging after a long separation)

11. I hate when funny people from the past creep into my dreams uninvited

Questions from Carol 

1. What do you most enjoy about blogging?

I love how my own thoughts become clearer. I love the dialogue. I love the sense of community.

2. Do you play a musical instrument? If not, would you like to? Which one?

Unfortunately, no. My daughter took up flute a year ago and I really wish she’ll have willpower enough to carry on. I envy people whose world is musically so much richer than mine. If I had time, I would learn the drums. I would love to be able to hit the drums like crazy!

3. How far do you travel to work? How do you travel?

My school is a 30 km drive from home. I travel in my car listening to music or audiobooks. It’s great to have this journey to separate my family and work life, to leave me the time to switch from one me to another.

4. What do you enjoy most about the work that you do?

The human contact. My students. My colleagues.

5. What was the first thing you ate today?

… let me see … mmm… a blueberry yoghurt

6. If you could travel anywhere, where would you go? Why?

I can’t say that :-) It’s one of our family projects for next year and I am too suspicious to even mention it

7. What month next year are you most looking forward to? Why?

March. It’s my birthday month and my mom will be visiting.

8. What meal do you prepare most often for friends?

Lasagne. It’s one of the few dishes I CAN cook … oh dear, I’m a really lousy cook

9.What was the last movie you saw? What did you think?

Just yesterday evening. We watched the Tree of Life with my husband. Didn’t get it. At all. I hardly ever NOT get the films, but this one got me. It was two hours of wasted time :-(

10. What three things do you like to have with you when working?

:-) Fun one! Mmmmm … let me see, a packet of post-it notes, a bottle of water and … a SMILE

11. What do YOU think about reality TV shows?

Depends. There is one on Estonian TV where they help really poor and unlucky families. For instance, they would help a mother with four kids who have just lost their father through a tragic event. I don’t know if this is reality TV or if it has another label …

I never watch people in a sealed box getting crazy under the spotlight.

 

Questions from Anne

1. What was your very first job?

It was a short summer job. I was a cleaning lady in a kindergarten.

2. What is your most valuable possession?

My family … my amazing kids and my hubby

3. Where do you want to go to retire?

Estonia. Or somewhere warm. But in the end it’s probably up to my family and where they will be.

4. What is the most important thing you learned from your parents/ parental figures?

Work won’t kill you.

5. Mountains or Ocean?

Sea ;-)

6. Most beautiful thing you have ever seen?

When my kids smile to  me with deep and sincere joy

7. What’s your favorite blog post you’ve written?

I have two different blogs, the one here and another, more personal in Estonian. My favorite post in the teacher blog is probably the one on non native English teacher doubts and worries. This post made other things happen :-)

8. Favorite education quote?

The one you can see on the right-hand side bar :-)

9. Have you ever done something adventurous? Please share!

Coming to Switzerland has been and still  is an amazing adventure

10. The correct number of hours of sleep is ______ in 24.

8

11. What is something you do that has absolutely no connection to TESOL?

Keeping a private journal, writing an Estonian family blog, skiing, hiking, tasting wine, cheese and chocolate :-)

 

THANK YOU, Carol and Anne! That was fun!

4 thoughts on “confessions from a tagged blogger

  1. I’m really glad you posted this, Sirja. It’s lovely to read and your positive nature just shines through. Drums sound fun – very therapeutic! Even your drive to work sounds enjoyable. Thank you for this! :-)

    I’m looking forward to reading your next post.

  2. Pingback: Tagged: in response to Rachael Roberts | Carol Goodey

  3. Thanks so much for responding to the blog challenge, even though I know you’re so busy! I really enjoyed reading more about you. Those TV ads make me cry, too. And I love how you keep your past and present with you in your heart. Life is an adventure! Live it up! ;)

  4. I have the same problem (distaste) with dreams! Why, oh, why (and how) do they creep in like that? It can really ruin a morning. It was so much fun getting to you know you better! Can’t wait to hear more about your family vacation. :) Your family is beautiful. :)

    Love!

Leave a Reply

