New year resolutions are so not cool … here are mine!

DSC_3213

(when I was out contemplating this post)

In two days time the new semester begins and even though it’s not a new school year, it is in a way a new beginning. And I’m personally extremely fond of new beginnings. Suddenly everything seems possible. It’s new, it’s a start, so ‘hey’ I could give it another, a fresh go and do much better than before. Sweeping all my weaknesses and failures aside, there is one thing I am good at – getting back on my feet and trying again. And nowhere is it as obvious as in my professional life. I might walk out of a classroom holding back tears, drive home swearing never to step in front of a classroom again, bang my head on the desk and solemnly promise to find a new vocation (because of being such a miserable and incompetent teacher!!! – you know, those days), but let the sun rise a couple of days later, and there I am, all bright and bushy, ready to kick some a****, help my students in new and inspiring ways.

At the end of the last semester I didn’t merit much of an applause, probably a couple of claps, but no standing ovation, oh no. To put it bluntly, I couldn’t wait for the Xmas break to liberate me from the unsatisfactory situation I found myself in. I didn’t feel comfortable, happy, energetic wearing my teacher hat. Somewhere along the way I had taken a bad turn and was feeling strangely lost. I knew I can perform so much better, I still remembered the feelings I COULD savour during and after positive lessons, but the gap between those moments and the current lessons was widening and I panicked.

But I have also learned that panic is temporary. While in turmoil, it’s certainly not the time to take any ultimate decisions or brand myself this or that. It’s like a hot soup you need to wait to cool down a little before eating. These two Christmas weeks have been exactly that, cooling down and letting my hunger and eagerness grow. To give myself a friendly push, I thought it would be a good idea to think of some objectives I could aspire for during this coming semester. Or like I say in the teacher training sessions, while preparing your lesson plan, don’t only write lesson aims for your students, write also what your personal objectives are.

So here they are, my new teaching year aspirations.

Assessment

Keep looking for new and alternative ways to assess my students’ performance. My previous post was all about that. Some ideas are already stirring in my head, so let’s hope I can travel much further on this new road of fair and varied assessment.

PLN is precious

It’s so easy to drift away. We all have busy lives comprising work, families, hobbies, all kinds of responsibilities. So it’s only natural that keeping up with PLN doings is not always self-evident. I have had shorter and longer moments of letting go and wandering on my own. Yet every time I come back and find  again the old (and new!) enthusiastic teachers from all over the world I always wonder how I got along without them 😉

So I wish to have the energy and time to keep up with my PLN, to learn from all these wonderful educators, to share my own modest thoughts and cherish the inspiration.

Teacher talk

Simply put – stop blabbering! Putting some sensible limits to teacher talking time is a continuous objective of mine. I do hope / believe I’m getting better. But there are still those I-get-carried-away moments in class when I use way too many words to get pretty short messages across. So, yep, choosing my words more carefully and avoid confusing verbal detours.

Vocabulary lists

Till recently I had an uneasy relationship with the idea of vocabulary lists. I used to believe that it’s up to students to make theirs. I encouraged my students to note down new words. After all, teaching in such mixed-level classes it seemed only normal that every student has a different vocabulary list. However, after reading Philip Kerr’s wordlists blog, this post by Ceri, and reflecting on student end-of-the-semester feedback, I feel change is underway. As usual, keep tuned 😉

Healthy person makes a healthy teacher

We teach who we are. And I want to be full of energy and inspiration. I know from previous experience that if I take the time to care for myself, I am definitely better prepared to give a helping hand to others. So in order to keep my own humble self growing and developing I MUST do things which nourish me. I hope to be able to read more (MUCH more … I can actually feel the desert advancing in my head and soul whenever I neglect reading for too long). I want to watch more films, too. And last but not least mens sana in corpore sano. Keep running, keep running! And remember to do your daily 5 Tibetan Rites 🙂

And you, do add one aspiration of yours into the comment section!

9 thoughts on “New year resolutions are so not cool … here are mine!

  1. Based on your previous post about assessment (thanks for the inspiration!) I think I’d like to make more time to give students more detailed verbal feedback on their work.

  2. You actually have))) and I’ve now found it.

    For all it matters (which might be not much)), I do believe you’ll kick some a**. In my turn, I’ve gone a long way from thinking NY resolutions are cool, through thinking they are not, back to guessing there might be something about them. I know they’re useful for some of my students and this fact is pleasant enough in itself.

    I especially like your point about vocabulary lists. Considering my own acute need for at least some vocabulary in Japanese, this is a topic to look deeper into for sure. Thanks for the links there!

    One of my *way too* many aspirations for this year is writing a blog post or an article once a week. And I need will power to treat this particular resolution most seriously!!

  3. Hi Sirja, thank you for the cool post, and for sharing what you are up to this year. Mine is still emerging: something about ‘practicing gratitude’, but I need to define more specifically, I think. Thank you for motivating!

Leave a Reply

