Daring to learn …

 

I’m just not up to it.

There’s simply no way I can keep posting regularly on this site. Only yesterday I checked Hana’s blog (after a loooong summer break) and couldn’t but gasp with admiration. Hana, you’re absolutely awesome and I love every single post of yours! And most of all, I admire your discipline, what seems like an unstoppable stream of ideas and extremely enjoyable writing style.

I’m waking up to a new school year. On one hand, I’m a little stressed about getting back into the classroom. I get these usual pre-school nightmares which mainly consist of totally unprepared lessons, absurdly arrogant students and trying to find classrooms that don’t exist. My summer has been so incredibly rich in people, places and experiences that school was like a heavy bag that got dropped in June and needs picking up again.

On the other hand, as soon as I sit down at my desk and start organizing the coming year, I feel the excitement, too. What was an empty workspace rapidly fills up with dictionaries, books, flashcards, post-it notes, diaries, markers and lists. I’m a Crazy Miss Lists right now. Lists of this year’s objectives, lists of materials, to-do lists. I doesn’t matter if any of the stuff on my list gets crossed out or not, simply putting it down on a list, makes me feel rather organized and productive. We all have our make-me-believe’s …

In her last blogpost, Hana encouraged us to think about what kind of teacher we would appreciate learning from. The thing is, I have been thinking of that for a long time now. This year is a special year for me because I won’t  be wearing only ONE teacher hat but TWO! Right after the kick off of the academic year, I’ll start my very first yoga lessons. I have been lucky to be able to turn a small room into my very own yoga studio and will welcome my first yoga students in three weeks. Thus, the whole notion of a guide, instructor, teacher, helper has been very much on my mind this summer. As I was asking myself what kind of a teacher I would love to grow to be, I automatically started pondering on what would I expect of a teacher. And here I mean any kind of teacher, be it yoga, English, photography, cooking, you name it.

Here are the words that jumped out at me:

Inspire – I wish that my teacher INSPIRES me. A great teacher makes me want to perform better, aspire higher, achieve more.

Trust – I want to be able to TRUST my teacher. I want to be able to lean on him / her if needed. I want my teacher to show me how to grow wings that carry.

Enjoy – I would love to ENJOY the learning process. And I don’t mean play. I mean enjoy it even if it gets tough because I would be aware that what I’m doing is getting me somewhere. But enjoy it also on a human level. For me a great teacher is also a great person. Someone who has this amazing ability of making people around them feel good and worthy. And with the feeling of worthiness comes trust and with trust comes the DARING 🙂

Do you dare?

DSC_4050

Happy new school year!

2 thoughts on “Daring to learn …

  1. Hi, Sirja!

    Thanks a lot for responding to my call by writing this beautiful post. Also, thank you for saying such nice words about my own blogging. It means a lot to me.

    I’d like to assure you that I have the same nightmares regarding the start of school. I really like the bag metaphor you used: “school was like a heavy bag that got dropped in June and needs picking up again”. I felt exactly the same way. In the middle of the summer holidays I didn’t even dare to look at the bag, but now I’m getting ready (at least mentally) for picking it up again.

    I’m happy to hear you’re up to some new experience; I’ve been thinking of starting yoga for some time now but there are no suitable courses around here – either they are full or far away. Would you like to be my yoga teacher then? 🙂

    Anyway, I wish you good luck and keep inspiring people!

    Hana

    • Dearest Hana,
      OF COURSE I would love to be your yoga teacher. If only you lived closer, you’d have a mat reserved for you in my class 🙂
      Have a very good beginning to this new school year and thank you for writing such lovely and inspiring posts!

      Big hugs from the Alps
      Sirja

Leave a Reply

